IMG_0070

Tonight I came home to a surprise: my boyfriend had purchased two white Minami teacups and two bamboo sushi boards for me to showcase the liquor of the tea I cover on this blog. I am still feeling my way around the design of this site, and have recently decided to go with photos of the liquor and pictures of the steeped tea leaves – he also bought me white soy sauce saucers.

I enjoyed my first cup of tea this evening from the Minami teacup. The cup is very thin, and consequently, gets extremely hot. The bamboo sushi boards are the perfect cooling spot for the teacup.

This evening I enjoyed Mighty Leaf’s Chamomile Citrus, which is an herbal infusion made of soothing Egyptian chamomile with a citrus finish of lemon and orange.

Chamomile is considered by some to be a medicinal herb that can help soothe the nerves and alleviate stomach aches. Chamomile tastes like apple, which makes sense why it matched so well with the applesauce I was eating. Thanks to the boyfriend’s keen gastronomical sense for pointing this out!

I found the chamomile in this tea to be the underlining flavor that was most apparent upon drinking, while the citrus notes developed later. This tea is a great late night tea insofar as it has no caffeine – it’s a herbal tea after all – and calms the mind before bed.

