This evening, while listening to Bud Powell, I am drinking a white blueberry tea from Adagio. White tea, as many of you probably know, is low in caffeine. According to Wikipedia: “White tea usually contains buds and young tea leaves, which have been found to contain lower levels of caffeine than older leaves, suggesting that the caffeine content of some white teas may be slightly lower than that of green teas.” Therefore, it is a perfect nighttime tea.

From my experience, white tea takes well to flavoring, especially with fruit. I have only encountered one white tea I did not enjoy and that was a Silver Needle white. The tea I tried tonight did not have a powerful blueberry taste, which in my opinion, it could have used. It said to steep the tea for seven minutes, and I overdid it, but you cannot ruin this tea: the tea is very forgiving.

This tea would probably be served well either iced, with sugar, or iced and with sugar. I might try my next cup with a little sugar to bring out the blueberry flavor.

